Kids Circle Each Other Like Puppies

when we were kids

we’d hear our parents call and hide each other

because we wanted so badly

not to be separated

 

do you know how much I hate having to

consider every word before I let it go

how my body buries itself when I look at you

because you’re so perfect and I can never be

good enough for you to love me

 

I want to find someone who will giggle and

toss me under the covers

when we hear footsteps

 

I don’t want to compare myself to perfection

anymore

why can’t I give over

why can’t I stop thinking about me

Leave a Reply

