Disquietude

Genesis 1:2

“And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.”

 

tell me what went through the mind of God

when he sparked the flames underfoot and

spread a film of damnation

over our existence

tell me why I have to remember

eternal destruction

is waiting for me

every time I watch raindrops square dance

across the pavement

tell me why when I love to be alive

I only break down again because

the day of judgment awaits me on the other side

 

and I was born

only to die in premonition —

acknowledgment of

how real, how dark

all of this is

Leave a Reply

