Predestination

in her pupils I see

myself grappling with demons

 

(SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP)

 

God sent them tumbling over heaven’s gates

told me only humans have free will

but only He can gain control

 

He sent her tumbling over the same gates

because I have too much

of that God-given will

 

you’re good enough to dodge every idea of God

find your way down to my doubts

make your home inside my fear of death and hell

 

because of you God sent me tumbling over heaven’s gates

sent every fallen angel with me

said His path is narrow

said He wouldn’t let me go

 

(SHUT UP SHUT UP)

 

Jacob wrestled with Jesus

and found his way to Him

 

I wrestled with an image

of us intertwined before the altar

and I found my way away

 

(SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP)

(SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP)

 

God locked those pearly gates around my heart

and you burned them all down.

Leave a Reply

